Getting arrested for DUI in Pennsylvania is a stressful experience. The administrative, financial and legal repercussions you face after a conviction are harsh. The most dreaded penalty among offenders is the loss of driving privileges. If a license suspension is issued, offenders must continue to operate in their daily lives without the ability to drive. This is obviously a huge inconvenience for people with busy lives and with obligations. Whether it be work, school, driving your kids around, or extracurricular activities, not being able to jump in your car and go like you could before makes things much more difficult. This suspension can last for months and even years depending on the circumstances.
After your suspension or revocation period is over, the option to reinstate a driver’s license is available for most through Pennsylvania’s Department of Transportation (PennDOT). But it isn’t an automatic process. You must apply to get your license back. There are several ways to apply for reinstatement. There’s an online option, a mail option, or you can show up at the DMV and handle things in person.
The requirements for reinstatement differ slightly depending on individual circumstances. And offenders who were convicted in court may have to meet additional requirements. But overall, when reinstating a driver’s license in Pennsylvania, motorists will generally be required to complete the following steps:
- Surrender your suspended driving license to PennDOT: when one’s license initially gets suspended, they are required to turn in their license to PennDOT for the suspension period to start.
- Complete the driving license revocation or suspension period: In some cases, the suspension period could last 90 days, in others the suspension may last 18 months. The duration period depends on your circumstances.
- Pay the corresponding reinstatement fees: Yes, you read that right. To reinstate your license you must pay certain fees, and this is on top of the other expenses you’ve had to pay throughout the criminal process as well.
- Satisfy certain court-ordered conditions: In some cases, the court may order you to attend alcohol or drug treatment, complete a safe driving class, or other orders. All of these objectives must be completed before you apply to reinstate your license.
- Submit proof of liability car insurance: Your vehicle(s) must be covered by liability car insurance to get your license reinstated.
Contact A Pennsylvania License Suspension Attorney
A significant part of being adequately prepared for your case entails seeking the help of an experienced PA DUI defense attorney. A legal professional who defends criminal defense cases will know the ins and outs of the process and can get you on a course of action that ideally fits your needs. Our Philadelphia license suspension attorneys bring a wealth of experience to the table, as they routinely, and successfully, handle numerous cases just like yours. But most importantly, their knowledge of the Pennsylvania legal system and the PA DMV can be a source of comfort for you in one of the most stressful times of your life. For more information about representation or how our attorneys can help you, contact them online or by phone today.
With an office in Center City they serve the entire Philadelphia and South Jersey areas.